Standardized Tests

Each year the students of St. Mary’s complete standardized tests as required by the Diocesan Testing Program.  The testing program for schools within the Catholic Diocese of Cleveland is designed to serve and assist teachers and administrators in a systematic evaluation of the curriculum and planning of instruction. Additional individual standardized testing programs are also used in some grades to determine how best to meet students’ needs in specific areas.

The Cognitive Abilities Test is a national norm-referenced test that is composed of a battery of sub-tests, which are a measure of verbal abstract reasoning and problem solving ability.

The IOWA Test of Basic Skills is a national norm-referenced test that provides for the comprehensive measurement of a student’s growth and achievement in the fundamental skills of reading, vocabulary, word analysis, listening, language, mathematics, science and social studies.




Grade K-2 Fox in the Box Fall/Spring
Grade 1 Cognitive Abilities Test Fall
Grade 3, 5, 7 Cognitive Abilities Test Spring
Grade 1-7 Iowa Test of Basic Skills Spring
Grade 3,5,7 Writing Proficiency Test  (Grade Level) Spring
Grade 8 Iowa Test of Basic Skills (Grade 9) Spring